Guilford

TOUS LES GROUPES DE SOUTIEN EN PERSONNE ONT ÉTÉ SUSPENDUS JUSQU'À 2020

Troisième jeudi du mois

19h00 – 20h30

L'espoir après la perte au

Centre de la vie familiale et des femmes de Guilford

96, rue de la foire

Guilford, CT 06437

Les réunions auront lieu dans la salle Bracken (anciennement le salon rose) qui est la pièce à droite du bureau d'accueil lorsque vous entrez dans la maison.

fullsizeoutput_91f8.jpeg

VOTRE FACILITATEUR :

Claudia Esposito

Claudia vit avec son mari Andrew, leurs deux fils, Andrew et Matthew, et leur chien Teah. Ancienne enseignante à l'école primaire et au préscolaire, elle dirige maintenant un programme d'enrichissement STEM pratique et basé sur l'enquête pour les enfants appelé Cool-ology®.

Claudia Esposito est bénévole pour Hope After Loss (anciennement la Fondation Hygeia) depuis 2004. Il y a 21 ans, le fondateur de Hygeia, le Dr Michael Berman, était médecin traitant à l'hôpital Yale New Haven la nuit où elle et son mari Andrew ont découvert leur jumeau les fils, Andrew et Joseph, étaient décédés in utero à 24 semaines de gestation du syndrome de transfusion de jumeaux à jumeaux. "Dr. Berman était si gentil et compatissant, et a même écrit un poème pour nous », explique Claudia. "J'avais fait une fausse couche avant les jumeaux, et une autre fausse couche après, avec beaucoup d'infertilité entre les deux."

À l'époque, Hygeia n'offrait qu'une assistance en ligne. Le Dr Berman voulait en faire plus. Il a réuni cinq femmes, dont Claudia, qui avaient toutes subi des pertes, et elles ont formé le premier conseil consultatif de parents Hygeia. Au fil du temps, ils ont commencé à fournir les premiers groupes locaux de soutien entre pairs en personne et à fournir un soutien par téléphone à tous ceux qui les appelaient. « Nous avons collecté des livres pour créer notre première bibliothèque de prêt de matériel de soutien au deuil. Nous avons contacté le personnel et les étudiants de l'hôpital Yale New Haven pour les éduquer sur la perte de grossesse du point de vue d'une patiente. Pendant ce temps, Claudia et son mari ont été présentés sur CBS Morning Show et Discovery Channel, partageant leur histoire de chagrin. « Finalement, j'ai reçu une formation formelle en soutien au deuil par le biais d'un programme appelé RTS (Resolve Through Sharing) et des bénévoles formés pour être des animateurs de groupes de soutien.

Claudia a plaidé pour le financement de la recherche sur la mortinatalité sur Capitol Hill à Washington DC. Elle a également écrit un blog de soutien au deuil périnatal appelé Soundwaves http://bubbaandbutch.wordpress.com/ . Elle a siégé au conseil d'administration de Hope After Loss pendant de nombreuses années, y compris pendant un certain temps en tant que présidente. Elle siège actuellement aux comités du prix de compassion et des normes de soins de Hope After Loss, et anime des groupes de soutien à Guilford.

«Je me suis fait tellement d'amis pour la vie grâce à Hygeia, maintenant Hope After Loss. Il existe un lien unique entre les parents endeuillés qui nous relie vraiment à un niveau plus profond. Cela a été incroyable de voir la croissance de ce programme si nécessaire. Je suis ravi de faire encore partie de tout cela en tant que bénévole et donateur.

Guilford

ALL IN-PERSON SUPPORT GROUPS HAVE BEEN SUSPENDED THROUGH 2020

 

Third Thursday of the month

7:00 – 8:30 p.m.

Hope After Loss at the

Guilford Women & Family Life Center

96 Fair Street

Guilford, CT 06437

Meetings will be in the Bracken Room (previously the pink living room) which is the room to the right of the reception desk when you walk into the house.

YOUR FACILITATOR:

Claudia Esposito

 

Claudia lives with her husband Andrew, their two sons, Andrew and Matthew, and their dog Teah. A former elementary school and preschool teacher, she now runs a hands-on, inquiry-based STEM enrichment program for children called Cool-ology®.

 

Claudia Esposito has volunteered for Hope After Loss (formerly the Hygeia Foundation) since 2004. Twenty-one years ago, Hygeia’s founder, Dr. Michael Berman, was attending physician at Yale New Haven Hospital the night she and her husband Andrew found out their twin sons, Andrew and Joseph, had died in-utero at 24 weeks gestation from twin-to-twin transfusion syndrome. “Dr. Berman was so kind and compassionate, and even wrote a poem for us,” Claudia explains. “I had suffered a miscarriage before the twins, and another miscarriage after, with lots of infertility in between.” 

 

At the time, Hygeia provided only online support. Dr. Berman wanted to do more. He gathered five women, including Claudia, who had all experienced losses of their own, and they formed the first Hygeia Parent Advisory Board. Over time, they started providing the first local peer-to-peer support groups in person and provided support on the phone to anyone who called.  “We collected books to create our first lending library of bereavement support resource material. We reached out to staff and students at Yale New Haven Hospital- educating them about pregnancy loss from a patient’s perspective.” During this time, Claudia and her husband were featured on the CBS Morning Show and the Discovery Channel, sharing their story of grief. “Eventually, I received formal bereavement support training through a program called RTS (Resolve Through Sharing) and trained volunteers to be support group facilitators.” 

 

Claudia has advocated for funding for stillbirth research on Capitol Hill in Washington DC. She also wrote a perinatal bereavement support blog called Soundwaves http://bubbaandbutch.wordpress.com/. She served on Hope After Loss’s Board of Directors for many years, including for a time as chair. She currently sits on Hope After Loss's Compassionate Care Award and Standards of Care committees, and facilitates support groups in Guilford. 

 

“I've made so many life-long friends through Hygeia, now Hope After Loss. There is a unique bond between bereaved parents that truly connects us on a deeper level.  It’s been amazing to watch the growth of this much needed program. I’m thrilled to still be a part of it all as a volunteer and donor.”

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Our support for the pregnancy and infant loss community continues virtually for the coming weeks.

A warm reminder that our virtual support groups are continuing this week via zoom. These virtual support groups have been successful and helpful to many. We hope that you will join us. If you need help with zoom, please contact ambers@hopeafterloss.org

 

Weekly 'Pregnancy and Infant Loss' Support Group: 8PM Wednesdays

Bi-weekly 'Trying to Conceive/Pregnancy After Loss' Support Group: 7PM every other Thursday

 

**Dates and times of all meetings are subject to change, especially if a regular meeting date falls on a holiday. Please visit our website prior to each meeting to confirm the date and time; last-minute schedule changes are posted on the Home page.**

Meeting links will go out each week via email and on Facebook.

©2014-2020 Hope After Loss, All Rights Reserved

Designed by North Star Design Studio