吉爾福德

到 2020 年,所有面對面的支持小組都已暫停

每月第三個星期四

晚上 7:00 – 8:30

失去後的希望

吉爾福德婦女和家庭生活中心

公平街96號

吉爾福德 CT 06437

會議將在 Bracken Room(以前是粉紅色的客廳)舉行,這是您走進房子時接待台右側的房間。

fullsizeoutput_91f8.jpeg

您的輔導員:

克勞迪婭·埃斯波西托

克勞迪婭與她的丈夫安德魯、他們的兩個兒子安德魯和馬修以及他們的狗 Teah 住在一起。她曾是一名小學和學前教師,現在為兒童開展一項名為 Cool-ology® 的實踐性、基於探究的 STEM 強化計劃。

自 2004 年以來,克勞迪婭·埃斯波西托 (Claudia Esposito) 一直在為“失落後希望”(前身為 Hygeia 基金會)做志願者。 21 年前,Hygeia 的創始人邁克爾·伯曼博士 (Dr. Michael Berman) 在耶魯紐黑文醫院 (Yale New Haven Hospital) 就診的那天晚上,她和丈夫安德魯 (Andrew) 發現了他們的雙胞胎兩個兒子 Andrew 和 Joseph 在妊娠 24 週時死於雙胎輸血綜合症。 “博士。伯曼是如此善良和富有同情心,甚至為我們寫了一首詩,”克勞迪婭解釋道。 “我在雙胞胎之前流產過,之後又流產過一次,中間有很多不孕症。”

當時,Hygeia 僅提供在線支持。伯曼博士想做更多。他召集了包括克勞迪婭在內的五名女性,她們都經歷過自己的損失,他們組成了第一個 Hygeia 家長諮詢委員會。隨著時間的推移,他們開始親自提供第一批本地點對點支持小組,並通過電話向任何來電者提供支持。 “我們收集書籍來創建我們的第一個喪親支持資源材料的借閱圖書館。我們聯繫了耶魯紐黑文醫院的教職員工和學生——從患者的角度教育他們關於流產的知識。”在此期間,Claudia 和她的丈夫出現在 CBS 早間節目和探索頻道上,分享他們的悲傷故事。 “最終,我通過一個名為 RTS(通過分享解決)的計劃接受了正式的喪親支持培訓,並培訓了志願者成為支持小組的協調員。”

克勞迪婭主張為華盛頓特區國會山的死產研究提供資金。她還寫了一個圍產期喪親支持博客,名為 Soundwaves http://bubbaandbutch.wordpress.com/ 。她曾在 Hope After Loss 的董事會任職多年,包括擔任過一段時間的主席。她目前是 Hope After Loss 的同情護理獎和護理標準委員會的成員,並促進吉爾福德的支持團體。

“我通過 Hygeia 結交了很多終生的朋友,現在失去了希望。失去親人的父母之間有一種獨特的紐帶,真正將我們在更深層次上聯繫起來。看到這個急需的程序的增長真是太神奇了。作為志願者和捐助者,我仍然很高興能參與其中。”

Guilford

ALL IN-PERSON SUPPORT GROUPS HAVE BEEN SUSPENDED THROUGH 2020

 

Third Thursday of the month

7:00 – 8:30 p.m.

Hope After Loss at the

Guilford Women & Family Life Center

96 Fair Street

Guilford, CT 06437

Meetings will be in the Bracken Room (previously the pink living room) which is the room to the right of the reception desk when you walk into the house.

YOUR FACILITATOR:

Claudia Esposito

 

Claudia lives with her husband Andrew, their two sons, Andrew and Matthew, and their dog Teah. A former elementary school and preschool teacher, she now runs a hands-on, inquiry-based STEM enrichment program for children called Cool-ology®.

 

Claudia Esposito has volunteered for Hope After Loss (formerly the Hygeia Foundation) since 2004. Twenty-one years ago, Hygeia’s founder, Dr. Michael Berman, was attending physician at Yale New Haven Hospital the night she and her husband Andrew found out their twin sons, Andrew and Joseph, had died in-utero at 24 weeks gestation from twin-to-twin transfusion syndrome. “Dr. Berman was so kind and compassionate, and even wrote a poem for us,” Claudia explains. “I had suffered a miscarriage before the twins, and another miscarriage after, with lots of infertility in between.” 

 

At the time, Hygeia provided only online support. Dr. Berman wanted to do more. He gathered five women, including Claudia, who had all experienced losses of their own, and they formed the first Hygeia Parent Advisory Board. Over time, they started providing the first local peer-to-peer support groups in person and provided support on the phone to anyone who called.  “We collected books to create our first lending library of bereavement support resource material. We reached out to staff and students at Yale New Haven Hospital- educating them about pregnancy loss from a patient’s perspective.” During this time, Claudia and her husband were featured on the CBS Morning Show and the Discovery Channel, sharing their story of grief. “Eventually, I received formal bereavement support training through a program called RTS (Resolve Through Sharing) and trained volunteers to be support group facilitators.” 

 

Claudia has advocated for funding for stillbirth research on Capitol Hill in Washington DC. She also wrote a perinatal bereavement support blog called Soundwaves http://bubbaandbutch.wordpress.com/. She served on Hope After Loss’s Board of Directors for many years, including for a time as chair. She currently sits on Hope After Loss's Compassionate Care Award and Standards of Care committees, and facilitates support groups in Guilford. 

 

“I've made so many life-long friends through Hygeia, now Hope After Loss. There is a unique bond between bereaved parents that truly connects us on a deeper level.  It’s been amazing to watch the growth of this much needed program. I’m thrilled to still be a part of it all as a volunteer and donor.”

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Our support for the pregnancy and infant loss community continues virtually for the coming weeks.

A warm reminder that our virtual support groups are continuing this week via zoom. These virtual support groups have been successful and helpful to many. We hope that you will join us. If you need help with zoom, please contact ambers@hopeafterloss.org

 

Weekly 'Pregnancy and Infant Loss' Support Group: 8PM Wednesdays

Bi-weekly 'Trying to Conceive/Pregnancy After Loss' Support Group: 7PM every other Thursday

 

**Dates and times of all meetings are subject to change, especially if a regular meeting date falls on a holiday. Please visit our website prior to each meeting to confirm the date and time; last-minute schedule changes are posted on the Home page.**

Meeting links will go out each week via email and on Facebook.

©2014-2020 Hope After Loss, All Rights Reserved

Designed by North Star Design Studio