Past Recipients
of the

Compassionate Care Awards


2019 Recipients

Dr. Lawrence Engmann, M.D., M.R.C.O.G, Dr. Lawrence Engmann is board certified in Obstetrics & Gynecology and Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility (REI). He graduated from the University of Ghana Medical School and received his MRCOG in 1995 from the United Kingdom.

Kathy Paniati, BSN, RN, Kathy Paniati graduated from Salve Regina University in Newport, Rhode Island in 1989 and has been a nurse for 30 years. She worked in Med/Surg, Homecare and Labor & Delivery prior to joining the CARS team as the Third Party team coordinator 4 years ago.

Holly Carson, RN, ASN, Holly Carson started her career in nursing in High School as a Certified Nurse’s Aide. She thought that Pediatrics was her calling until a chance opportunity led her to Labor and Delivery at Manchester Memorial Hospital 14 years ago.  

Rebecca Bennet, RNC-OB, BSN, Rebecca Bennet graduated from American International College with her Nursing degree and served in the Army National Guard for 8 years. She has been working as a Labor and Delivery nurse at Manchester Memorial Hospital for the past 8 years.

2018 Recipients

Dr. Barnaby is a board eligible OB-GYN at Women’s Obstetrics and Gynecology PC in Trumbull, CT.  She has 3 children.

Dr. Steven Peterec has been a member of the Yale University Department of Pediatrics faculty since completing his fellowship, is an attending neonatologist in the Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and is Director of the Yale Pediatric Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (“ECMO”) Program.

Marianna Erenhouse, RN, Nurse Erenhouse received her BS in Nursing from the University of Virginia.  She’s worked at YNHH in the NICU for the last 13 years.

Charlene Cannon-Heinrich, RN, BSN, MSN, Nurse Cannon-Heinrich has been an RN at Yale’s NNICU for 22 years.

Ana Carneiro, RN, Nurse Carneiro has been a nurse for 38 years. She graduated from St. Vincent’s School of Nursing in 1980.

2017 Recipients

Dr. Richard Viscarello is the President, Chief Executive Officer and Medical Director of Maternal Fetal Care, PC in Stamford, Connecticut. Dr. Viscarello is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology as well as Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Megan Ciarlelli is a registered nurse in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NNICU) at Yale New Haven Hospital.  She received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Endicott College in Beverly, Massachusetts

2016 Recipients

Bonnie Blair, RN, Newborn Special Care Unit, Yale New Haven Hospital, nominated by Krista Bello, mother of Bryce

Elise Resch, CNM, Women’s Health Associates, nominated by Julianne Kaphar, mother of Calla Pearl and Meghan Constantino, mother of Mabel.

2015 Recipient

Jan Ferraro, a Childbirth Educator of Lawrence & Memorial Hospital and other locations throughout the state, including private one-on-one services

2014 Recipients

Sally Irons, MD, of Middlesex Obstetrical & Gynecological Associates.

Alicia Esposito, RN, of Yale-New Haven Hospital’s Labor and Delivery Unit at the Saint Raphael Campus.

2013 Recipients

Christine Fontana RN YNHH

Ellen Tilton BSN, RM, MFM Certified Yale MFM

2012 Recipient

Katie Brady RN YNHH

2011 Recipient

Brenda Beard RN YNHH (retired)


Tickets for the
2020 Compassionate Care Awards
are on sale now!